Sunday, 19 June 2011

England 37 Canada 6 - Highlights of the Churchill Cup Final

Whether Martin Johnson and his coaching staff have learnt anymore about possible candidates for the England World Cup Training Squad is debatable after this scrappy but ultimately satisfying England defeat of a highly competitive and robust Canadian team.

Canada proved to be particularly resilient up front with the combatative Jamie Cudmore very much to the fore. It was therefore a day of hard graft and grind for Matt Stevens, Mouritz Botha and Tom Johnson, the three players touted as possible contenders for the training squad to be announced tomorrow. From the perspective of Saxon's coach, Stuart Lancaster, Stevens has done himself no harm:

"Stevens has been great off the field, and on the field he has delivered for me and the other coaches. It's a tick for me in the box."

Ultimately a comfortable win for the Saxons, the hard work being rewarded with three second half tries from Miles Benjamin, Charlie Sharples and London Irish, back rower, Jamie Gibson to add to the first half tries by James Gaskell and Benjamin along with a penalty and conversion from Rory Clegg.

England will now hold the trophy in perpetuity after their sixth victory in nine seasons as the Churchill Cup as tournament comes to an end. From next year England will play more midweek fixtures on future senior summer tours, while Canada and the United States will play home Tests against the leading nations from next June.

England Saxons: M Brown (Harlequins); C Charples (Gloucester), H Trinder (Gloucester), B Twelvetrees (Leicester), M Benjamin (Worcester); R Clegg (Harlequins), P Hodgson (London Irish); M Mullan (Worcester), D Paice (London Irish), M Stevens (Saracens), M Botha (Saracens), G Kitchener (Worcester), J Gaskell (Sale), T Johnson (Exeter), J Crane (Leicester — captain). Substitutes: A Goode (Saracens) for Brown 53, J Gibson (London Irish) for Kitchener 64, N Catt (Bath) for Mullan 70, M Young (Newcastle) for Hodgson 73, T Ojo (London Irish) for Benjamin 74, C Fearns (Sale) for Johnson 74, J Gray (Harlequins) for Paice 76.

Canada: M Evans; C Hearn (C Trainor 53), P Mackenzie, R Smith, J Pritchard; A Munro (N Hirayama 68), S White(J Mackenzie 74); H Buydens (A Tiedemann 70), P Riordan (captain), J Marshall (S Franklin 70), B Erichsen (T Hotson 64), J Cudmore, J Sinclair, C O’Toole, A Carpenter (N Dala 64).

No comments:

Post a Comment